A Wild Week!

ImageImageImage

Oh man, this week has just flown by! It’s all a blur and I have no idea what happened!

First, I think I’ve been slacking a bit on thank you’s! I got a letter from Kraig a little while back, so thank you! Also got an awesome little package from some 9th ward YW, so thank you! And thanks for all the cards everyone in the ward signed! You are all fantastic! Also huge, huge thanks to grandma for typing up my blessing! It’s been the biggest help–you have no idea!

Also, just wanted to give a shout out to some of my good high school buddies–Caroline, Tosha, Wendy, Alex Adams, Rachel Chow, you know all those awesome ones. I had a dream the other night that we had to go teach the gospel at this church and that pastor was getting really mad at us (which would kind of make sense why) so we went to sit in the back, and all those girls were sitting there, so I got to say hello to them! I was really confused why they were up in Alaska at this other church of course, but it sure was good to see them, even if it was in my dreams! 🙂

I think this week I’ve just gained a greater understanding and testimony of the enabling power of the atonement. It’s been really empowering to feel Christ’s strength, love, charity and hope flood me this week as I’ve turned to Him more. It’s really cool to see the gospel come more alive in my own life as I help it even appear in the lives of others. 

I think one of my favorite things this week was a lesson we had with one of our investigators. He wasn’t super sure about that church at first anyway, but we’ve had some AMAZING, powerful lessons with him. I’ve been bold with him in a way that I haven’t been with anyone else. This lesson with him this week was the same way! This time though, Amber suggested she come and share some of her experience, and she recommended we teach him at the stake center. Man, there was SUCH a powerful spirit there! Sadly, he was not receptive at all. He’d talked to a few people and they’d gotten mad at him for even investigating and had told him a lot of false things. It was very odd to teach him and have the spirit show me how hardened his heart was–I haven’t had that happen yet. But because of that, I was able to be more bold, but he really didn’t let any of that through. 

The reason this lesson was my favorite though was because of Amber–she is SUCH a powerhouse! She bore her testimony twice and basically laid down the law. She was more bold even than me and told him that she has lots of experiences that she’d love to share with him that would help him, but that at this point they would just fall on deaf ears and so it wouldn’t be worth sharing something so special. She told him he’d hardened his heart to the point that he was missing that main thing that would help him in his life right now. MAN, I was SO impressed! She made ME want to be a better missionary than ever–and she hasn’t even been a member for a month!! It was SO cool and crazy. 

Other than that, the work just keeps going! Taught a guy named George who said he’s already read the Book of Mormon and knew it was true and had his whole baptism planned–all in the first five minutes of our lesson with him . So uh, yeah, you could say there’s some pretty rocking miracles happening! 

Wish I had more time to share more, but I can say that I’m super excited for the next few months in this branch! They have so many good things coming, and I can’t wait to see what they are! President Beesley came up this weekend for interviews and he got us all re-excited about getting 50 baptisms every month in our mission which is double what we’re at now–and we can do it!! 

Well kids, I love you, God loves you, the gospel’s true. Oh, and Merry Christmas!!

 Love,

Sister Harrison!

Leave a Reply

