Sitka!!

P1030734

Guys, I don’t even know where to start this week! Like holy cow! I feel like I just restarted my whole mission! Haha but really, it’s been a crazy big change for me, but still so, so cool, and Heavenly Father’s helped me out so, so much with the adjustment!

Okay, so last Monday we got into Anchorage and did some shopping, got haircuts, the whole ordeal. And that night, I got to see Sister Hart again for the first time in four months!! It was probably the greatest reunion anyone has ever seen. Haha, we hugged, we laughed, we cried (almost), the whole shabang. Mostly just a bunch of squealing though. So good seeing her again!

Then Tuesday I actually got to go to transfer meeting–in person! I went up to shake President’s hand real quick and said, “I’m actually here!” and then he said something about, “You better enjoy it!” so I’m curious when I’ll show my face at a transfer meeting again. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was actually pretty funny though how nervous I was to go to transfer meeting, but that’s what you get when you’ve only met Fairbanks missionaries your whole mission! But it was SO great getting to say hi to my few mission buddies who’d already left. Of course there were only a handful of them, but it was great to see that they still are my buds! ๐Ÿ™‚

Then, I got to go to the temple to help clean! It was way cool! We got to go to the Celestial room and clean the crystals on the chandelier. Quite the cool experience!

P1030698
Anchorage Temple

Then got to go to Sister’s meeting in person and meet all the sisters! Also got to meet all the office couples. Apparently they’re a big deal, but I never understood until now. We were staying in an apartment by Elder and Sister Jacob, and they were probably the cutest, kindest people ever. They kept asking us what they could do and took us to breakfast and brought us shampoo and conditioner and so many other things. It was so sweet!

P1030706

Downside of inheriting an apartment previously held by Elders:)

And that pretty much wraps up my stay in Anchorage! The next day we shipped off Sister Grayson to North Pole, and then a few hours later I headed out to Juneau!

P1030686

Flying to Juneau!

P1030690

Oh my goodness, I’m in LOVE with Juneau! I was only there for two days, but it’s AMAZING! The sisters were SO cute when we got there! They had little signs for us to welcome us there and were so excited! Then we headed to Costco and did some other shopping because we have to load up on food there since it’s so much cheaper. That night we had a zone dinner and then did a zone tract. Sister Honey and I actually got into someone’s house! We totally hadn’t been expecting it and we’d been alone together as companions for about half an hour, but the church is true because we were able to teach by the spirit and had an awesome lesson! Super cool.

P1030696

Costco Food!

The next day was even better! We had leadership training all the morning with Pres and Sis Beesley–basically we all sat there and listened to President pour out words of wisdom on us–he’s so brilliant! I sure love him to death. Then later we had our interviews with him and it’s so cute to see how excited he is for me being excited to go to Sitka!

Then we had probably my favorite part of the whole week. We drove out to this GORGEOUS park and had a little zone training thing there. It was right on the edge of the ocean and we got to walk through this forest out to a little island and the whole way there we did little trainings on being faithful. Then we came back and had a testimony meeting around a bonfire–Ah, guys it was seriously the best thing ever! Loved it! ย Nothing quite like hearing a bunch of missionaries bear their testimony while you’re surrounded by God’s beautiful creations. Mm, loved it.

P1030725

And then the next day we loaded up on the Disney plane (we thought that was pretty fitting) to come to the fairytale land of Sitka!! Guys, I cannot get enough! It’s beautiful!! Seriously, everywhere I look I’m just in awe and can’t even believe how spoiled I am. I love it!

It’s also been a huge change too, so I’m just getting adjusted! It’s a small little island and it’s just Sister Honey and I, no other missionaries, so it’s very opposite to the whole rest of my mission. But I’m just remembering that everything IS changing so I’m being patient with myself and it’s all going to work out. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sister Honey’s awesome, reminds me a bit of Miriam Bay actually, so I think we’re gonna be good. It’s only been three days though, so I’ll let you know in a little bit!

Gotta wrap up with conference! So awesome! Did anyone catch that President Utchdorf talked exactly about what I’ve been talking about the last forever about Joy IN the journey! Whoo! I was pretty excited about that one. And then shout out to Alaska from President Monson! He basically talked about the exact journey I’d taken this past week (a little out of order, but that’s okay) and it was just a sweet reminder that God knows my situation enough to have his Prophet tell the world about these little places that matter so much to you. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was really sweet. Sure missed watching with you guys, but only one more conference on my mish left. CRAZY.

Well, sure love you all, hope you have an AWESOME week!!

Loves!

Sis Harrison

P1030710

Sister Hart!

P1030715 P1030724
P1030729
P1030742 P1030747Sitka Chapel

P1030752

P1030767 P1030775 P1030779

Leave a Reply

