Birthday in the Missionfield!








P1060407

 

Thanks everyone for all of the thoughtful birthday wishes and surprises! Made my whole day πŸ™‚

I have this thing with happy phrases. Ya know, like at Christmas you tell everyone Merry Christmas, and same with every holiday? Well, I can’t help but do the same thing with my birthday. I made at least one or two people smile at the store today when I walked up to them with the awesome bag of suckers ( THANK YOU MOM!) and said, “Happy Birthday! Have a sucker!” Don’t worry, I explained that it was my birthday, but everyone’s loved it. The Birthday secret, I tell ya, it’s the best. πŸ™‚ And that’s the really long explanation of why I’m telling all of YOU–HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Thanks to all of you for being a part of my life and loving me and helping me be the person I need to be! You’ve each blessed me so much!

And especially you my cute little fam bam! Oh my, I just love you all! The package was SO fun! And thank you so much for contacting so many of my buddies and getting little notes from them! Seriously made my day. πŸ™‚ And thank you to my buddies who sent me the notes! They meant the world, so thanks. πŸ™‚ And I’m so excited to listen to the recording of you guys! Like I said, I started it and almost started crying, so I’ll find some time later today to listen to your fun happy voices! πŸ™‚

So it’s pretty odd hitting your birthday and year mark all in the same week. It’s made me think a lot about the past year and all the ups and downs. I’m so honored I got to spend my whole year being 19 on my mission. I remember when I was 8 I was SO excited to turn 9. For some reason that was my favorite number, so I knew it’d be a good year. Aaaand, it ended up being one of the hardest years for our fam. Haha. BUT, I remember thinking, “Well, my next favorite number is 19, so we’ll see what happens ten years from now!” Little did I know! Haha, and this year has been QUITE the year. I’ve DEFINITELY had some of the BEST experiences EVER. I’ve also had some of THE HARDEST experiences as well. But ALL of it has been the biggest blessing ever and the things I’ve learned are so wonderful to me. I’ll always be so grateful for the whole year being 19 completely serving Heavenly Father with all I have and am.

And now we have six more months to look forward to! I can’t wait to see what else gets to happen and who I’ll get to grow into–what this year being 20 has in store!

Alright, enough about birthdays, lets get to the missionary work from this week!

First was the inspiration I got to ‘Let YOUR light so shine’, so people can ‘glorify God’. To stop worrying about others and how they’re doing and focus on doing the best I can to share the gospel. It sounds kind of selfish, but it helped take some stress off of me. πŸ™‚

We also had a cool experience with one of our active members, Sister Pharis! We invited her to pray for missionary opportunities, and when we followed up, she said she was doing it, but hadn’t had any yet. Well, that night we went to Young Women’s at the Westmark for their Desert Dating Etiquette night. And while we were there, our waitress came and asked if they were all Beehives. That opened the door for Sis Pharis to ask her how she knew our culture and she said she was a member, just less-active! She had her missionary opportunity! It was super cool to see that first her prayer was answered, and second, it wasn’t hard or scary! No need to fear praying for missionary opportunities! If you’re helping Heavenly Father out, he’ll use YOU the way you can be of help to him!

We’ve also had some fun road adventures. They’re re-paving the roads by our apartment, and the other day as we were driving out after lunch, we found our street blocked off! We drove back to our house, trying to decide what to do. Did we shrink or shun the fight? NO! Even if we didn’t have a car, we had two legs! So off we went walking around! It was quite the adventure, but we found a nice lady named Suzanne and ran into a bunch of members and potentials! It was really neat to see God’s hand so evident in what we were supposed to do that day. And we made the best of it! Definitely sang some good, “Three missionaries sang as they walked, and walked, and walked, and walked…” πŸ™‚

We also got to meet with one of my favorite investigators, Jasper! We had a wonderful lesson, and he even asked if he could eat lunch with us (we were going to eat at the church) and read the Book of Mormon! Of course! And then he came to church the next day with our other investigator, Stephen! Ah! So great! Gotta love birthday miracles! πŸ™‚ Oh, and I got a picture with him for my birthday!

Super excited to go use my tradeshow skills this week at the Juneau chapel openhouse! Should be really great! Thank you again for all your love and support and birthday wishes! I have the best people ever in my life. THANK YOU!!

Love, Sis Harrison (the now 20 year old one–ah, so weird!)

P1060398

Jasper!

P1060391

Biggest pokemon card ever!

P1060383

We love walking!

P1060381

 

Cutest tree-chair!

 

P1060378

They have to keep HUGE chains on all the garbages to keep bears out. πŸ™‚

P1060372

 

Totem pole and us!

P1060369

 

Leave a Reply

